Huntington High School's National Honor Society chapter has been inducting top scholars for 65 years.

National Honor Society Inducts 108 New Members

Huntington High School's National Honor Society chapter has been inducting top scholars for 65 years.

February 1 , 2021

The Nathan Hale chapter of the National Honor Society at Huntington High School embraced 108 new members during the organization’s 67th annual induction ceremony, which was held virtually late last week due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The teenagers have compiled magnificent academic records and garnered the respect and admiration of the faculty. The new inductees join 69 continuing members, swelling the group’s ranks to 177. (A video of the ceremony is posted on the Huntington UFSD’s website.)

Speakers during the ceremony included Nathan Hale chapter President Jack Krisch, who gave a well-spoken address about the ideals of the organization. Executive officers Gemma Pellegrini (vice president), Tess Stanley (secretary) and Alex Gonzalez (treasurer) took turns speaking about the group’s membership pillars of character, scholarship, leadership and service.

Principal Brenden Cusack spoke to new and continuing members during the induction ceremony as did teachers Patricia Avelli and Tara Fisher, who serve as the organization’s faculty advisors.

“We are so proud of these young people, not only for their cumulative accomplishments, but for their incredible resilience during challenging times,” Huntington Superintendent James W. Polansky said. “They have represented and continue to represent the Huntington school community in the finest manner possible. I have no doubt that their success will continue during the remainder of their high school years and in their post-secondary endeavors. Congratulations to them and to their families!”

The new inductees include Cristian Avelar-Romero, Alyson Baker, Tyler Basil, Cianna Batts, Madelyn Bavaro, Matthew Beasley, Aidan Bender, Sarah Berry, Katie Browne, Jake Burton, Teddi Carnesi, Cassidy Casabona, Gretel Cassell, Charlotte Cheshire, John Chirico, Lucas Cirlincione, Caelan Clayton, Grace Colavecchio, Dylan Coleman, Morgan Colleluori, Olivia Conte, Sydney Cordeiro, Kianna Criscuola, Rachel Deegan, Nicolas DiPietro, Zoe Dumas, Finley Dunn, Jessica Erhardt, Naysa Escobar-Rizo, Matthew Fallon, Naidely Fernandez Gutierrez, Erik Flores Reyes, Keira Francis, Alexander Frawley, Juliana Friebolin, Madeline Gabriel, Emily Geller, Ashley Genao, Charles Girimonti, Bianca Gomez and Lauren Gooding.

The ceremony also featured the induction of Caroline Gorecki, David Canas Granados, Kevin Granados-Lopez, Angelica Hernandez, Lauren Holly, Alexis Kaloudis, Jasjeet Kaur, Shannon Kehoe, Alexandra Kustera, Matthew Lange, Sophie Laserson, Aiden Lefebvre, Liam Lennon, Adrianna LoScalzo, Jillian LoTurco, Christopher Maichin, Victoria Mangan, Sofia Marchetta, Jake Marques, Leonid Martinez Soto, John Marziliano, Angie Mata, Sophia Matheus, Andrew McKenzie, Aidan McNulty, Matthew Minicozzi, Caitlin Murtagh, Allison Neber, Margo Nitekman, Jack O’Brien, Evan O’Connell, Caroline O’Rourke, Lucas Petrizzi, Tallulah Pitti, Emily Plachta, Ryan Porzio, Ainsley Proctor, Gianna Prosseda, Allison Quinn and Keylin Quintanilla Villalobos.

Gracia Renkewitz, Maximilian Rentsch, Luke Rinaldi, Yanira Rivera Ronquillo, Emily Roberts, Hannah Roberts, Ludis Romero, Mary Grace Rorke, Kathryn Sanseviro, Regan Sansiviero, Dylan Schnitzer, Joseph Sclafani, Abigail Simon, Robert Smith, Henry Stein, Grace Stolfa, Theologos Tiliakos, Sophia Toscano, Carleigh Tracy, Nathali Ulloa, Adamaris Ventura Sanchez, Felipe Villanueva, Henry Vohs, Shane Walsh, William Weber, Erin Ye and Richard Zboray were also welcomed into the fold.

The National Honor Society’s motto is “Noblesse Oblige,” a French term that translates in English to “nobility obligates.” The new members are expected to assist all students on the path toward academic excellence through a variety of tutoring and community service activities.