The Huntington Foundation has named a group of amazing teenage volunteers to its youth board

Huntington Foundation Names Youth Board

The Huntington Foundation has named a group of amazing teenage volunteers to its youth board.

October 22, 2020

The Huntington Foundation for Excellence in Education has named its 2020/21 Youth Board members and announced its executive team and board members.

The new school year’s Youth Board will consist of Victoria Mangan, Grace Colavecchio, Morgan Colleluori, Mary Grace Rorke, Charlotte Cheshire, Charlie Girimonti and Jaden Argaman.

“I am looking forward to being a member of the youth board once again,” Ms. Mangan said. “I think it’s great that HFEE can have a perspective from the students point of view for different grants and projects.”

The adults involved with the Huntington Foundation absolutely love having the teenagers involved in the organization and the feeling is mutual.

“Being a part of the youth board has been a great experience,” Ms. Colleluori said. “It’s very rewarding to see the money that HFEE raises go straight to the teachers to create new learning experiences for the students in all of our schools. I’ve learned so much about fundraising for a non-profit organization and have gotten to work with so many great people.”

The Huntington Foundation has supported initiatives in every building and grade in the district. It was worked closely with faculty members seeking funding for innovative practices.

“The Huntington Foundation Youth Board has been a great opportunity for me to gain insight on what it takes to support our school district, as well as meet new people within our community,” Ms. Colavecchio said.

This marks the fifth edition of the HFEE Youth Board. The new set of members will spend several hours each month focusing on Huntington Foundation business. They are expected to play an important role in all of the group’s activities.

“It is truly an honor to be selected to work with such a phenomenal committee that the Huntington Foundation Board has elected,” Mr. Girimonti said.

The Huntington Foundation’s executive board includes Amy Girimonti (vice president of development), Meghan Knieriem (chief financial officer), Jennifer Hebert (vice president of grants), Laura Cheshire (vice president of grants), Michele Sabatino (secretary) and Andrea Boccard (vice president of public relations).

The board includes Melissa Argaman (youth board coordinator), Toniann Mangan (PTA liaison), Kristine Colleluori (assistant vice president for development), Tara Poli (assistant vice president for development), Janine Luca (meeting coordinator), Meaghan Buffa (assistant vice president for public relations) and Alice Marie Rorke (at-large board member).

Cynthia Vitulli is a volunteer with the organization. Additional volunteers will be welcomed with open arms.

“The Huntington Foundation for Excellence in Education has donated a lot of money to our schools over the years for some really great projects,” Mr. Argaman said. “I’m excited to be able to help give back to our schools and teachers through this youth board.”

The Huntington Foundation has spent more than 25 years raising funds and giving it all away through two grant programs that encourage innovative classroom practices and programs. Enthusiastic parent volunteers who have committed countless hours of their time have made the Huntington Foundation the envy of many other districts.

“I am so honored to be a part of the Huntington Foundation youth board and to work with such amazing and hardworking students and adults,” said Mary Grace Rorke, a Huntington High School sophomore. “I have always admired everything that HFEE has done for Huntington UFSD as well as the Huntington community as a whole. We are able to fund innovative education via grants and as a youth board member we are able to provide insight as to what grants we should support. I am looking forward to being a part of the youth board again this year.”

The Foundation is a not-for-profit organization. Its annual report may be obtained upon request from the Foundation (P.O. Box 552, Huntington, NY 11743) or from the Office of the Attorney General, Charities Bureau (120 Broadway, New York, NY 10271).