The Huntington Foundation has funded more than $5,000 in mini-grants.

Huntington Foundation Funds Mini-Grants

The Huntington Foundation has funded more than $5,000 in mini-grants.

February 25, 2019

The Huntington Foundation for Excellence in Education has donated $5,080 to the Huntington School District to fund eight mini-grants submitted by faculty members.

Huntington School Board members accepted the donation during a public meeting on Monday, February 4. The Huntington Foundation has donated in excess of $1.2 million to the district since the organization was founded more than two decades ago.

The grants were awarded to assist with innovative educational projects in the district. Approved mini-grant proposals are funded at levels up to $1,000 each.

“The Huntington Foundation’s generosity knows no boundaries,” Superintendent James W. Polansky said. “Their efforts continue to ensure that grant monies are spread across all Huntington schools and subject areas. The most recent collection of approved mini-grants is a perfect example. Grant award recipients are eager to implement the programs and ideas that the funding will facilitate. Once again, we extend our deepest gratitude for the support.”

This year’s approved mini-grants will fund projects proposed by the following teachers in the listed amounts. Each of the projects has garnered the support of the respective building principal.

Teacher: Catherine Barth/Jefferson Primary School

Grant amount: $853.17

Teacher: Rosario Lorenzana/Huntington High School

Grant amount: $430.84

Teacher: Lucia Laguarda/Flower Hill Primary School

Grant amount: $1071.50

Teacher: Kathleen Ozimkowski/Jefferson Primary School

Grant amount: $146.31

Teacher: Luz Marotta/Jefferson Primary School

Grant amount: $1,144.00

Teacher: Debra Lawrence/Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School

Grant amount: $596.75

Teacher: Kristen Murphy/Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School

Grant amount: $538.73

Teacher: Mary DiBenedetto and Kate Casey/J. Taylor Finley Middle School

Grant amount: $298.18

The Huntington Foundation’s executive board consists of Alice Marie Rorke (president), Amy Girimonti (vice president-development), Debbie Knowles (chief financial officer), Susan Lyons (vice president-grants), Michele Sabatino (secretary) and Andrea Boccard (vice president-public relations).

Board members include Kimberley Steinberg (event coordinator/gala chairperson), Laura Cheshire (gala assistant), Laura Colavecchio (Youth Board coordinator), Toniann Mangan (grants liaison), Kristine Colleluori, Laura Mills, Laura Palacios and Tina Evans.

Youth Board members include Candido Martinez (HFEE intern), Noah Morris, Megan Malone, Andrew Knowles, Emely Lopez, David Mosden, Caitlyn Palermo (videographer) and Francesca Greco.