Empty desks in a classroom

Trustees Grant Tenure to Faculty

A group of Huntington teachers has been given new tenure appointments.

August 14, 2017

Huntington School Board members granted tenure to fourteen teachers and four teacher assistants during a public meeting this past Monday night in the Jack Abrams STEM Magnet School auditorium.

Trustees awarded tenure to teachers Maria Canino (physical education), Lisa Caporuso (special education), Nicole Castaldo (music), Yesenia Cortes (elementary classroom), Gabriela Escorbores (elementary classroom), Nancy Giorgos (English as a Second Language), Kaitlyn Hanft (social studies), Matthew Liguori (science), Danielle Lusardi (science), Christina Martino (psychologist), Debra Ravo (English as a Second Language), Jason Rind (special education), Paige Tyree (business) and Timothy Witt (special education) and teaching assistants Anna Constantine, Nancy Reh, Susan Reh-Riley and Danielle Sangiovanni.

Trustees acted on a recommendation by Superintendent James W. Polansky when they voted to award tenure to the 18 faculty members. A reception for the newly tenured teachers is planned for the fall.

“We are pleased to acknowledge the accomplishments of those who will earn tenure this September,” Mr. Polansky said. “These individuals clearly understand the importance of addressing the needs of every child with whom they work and also their role in the development of lifelong learners. They take great pride in what they do, as well as in the achievements of their students and the Huntington school community in its entirety.”

New York State Education Law requires teachers and administrators to serve a multi-year probationary period before being eligible to receive a tenure appointment. During this time faculty members are subjected to intensive observation and evaluation and can be dismissed for virtually any reason. (Faculty members who have previously received tenure in New York State are eligible to have their probationary period shortened.)